vaultanna.blogg.se

Silica sao
Silica sao








I picked a cotton spandex fabric to make Silica’s sleeveless mock turtleneck crop top. Materials: Black cotton/spandex knit, black thread, gold elastic trim, goldenrod thread I folded the PVC and pressed the skirt on the silk/nylon setting on the inner side. I usually get through an entire costume without breaking a needle. I broke a total of two needles on this skirt: a new record. I used goldenrod-colored top thread and black bottom thread. Then there was the tedious task of pinning the PVC trim without puncturing it (except the very ends) and getting the sewing job right on the first try. I cut the 1.5″ wide PVC trim into 3/8″ wide strips. PVC is annoying to sew, since it’s relatively sticky and all puncture wounds are permanent, but this seemed to be the best option available for now. In the end, I decided to take a somewhat harder route by buying PVC trim in the only width available at my local Jo-Ann store. Straight plain yellow looked too flat and ‘weak’ for a fantasy-type costume. The only bias tape available at Jo-Ann was this super tacky & shiny gold lamé tape stuff, which I’ve bought before and I disliked the resulting appearance. So I was looking high ‘n low for a good gold/yellow trim to on the skirt, keeping in mind that it needs to match other bits of gold/yellow trim on Silica’s outfit. The best part of the skirt has come! I’ve been waiting for this!

silica sao

I attached two pairs of snaps on the waistband for closing the skirt in addition to the zipper. The bottom hem of the skirt was finished as well. The rest of the waistband was folded, pressed, and finished. I finished the ends of the waistband first. The longer tab on the waist is the front piece.

silica sao

I added the waistband to the top of the skirt body and removed the basting. The top hem of the skirt body was basted all the way around. I shortened the 9″ invisible zipper down to 6″. This was the best invisible zipper installation I’ve done so far. The left side of the skirt body was fitted with a black invisible zipper. The waistband pieces were also sewn together on the right side, thought just a regular seam. I also pressed the left hems inward and finished them in anticipation of the zipper. The skirt body was sewn together on the right side with a french seam. The heavyweight interfacing for the waistband pieces was also left over from another project ( Persona 4‘s Teddie from PAX 2012). The skirt took up a 49″ X 25″ piece of poplin. Scaled to me, the pleats came out to be 2.5″ wide and the skirt body was 10.5″ long. It sits about an inch or so below her waist. Silica’s skirt has 10 box pleats, centered. Materials: Caviar stretch poplin, heavyweight interfacing, black thread, black invisible zipper, snaps, gold pleather trim, goldenrod threadįor the skirt, I used stretch poplin in caviar left over from a past sewing project (I think it might’ve been an aborted attempt to make the AIR school uniform…). Numerous amateur Silica costumes were consulted for ideas. Hair bobbles and ribbons are different shades of red than the blazer and each other. Same color as gloves.Īll yellow/gold parts appear to be the same color.Īll dark gray/black parts appear to be the same color. I color-sampled the character art from official website for actual colors. Official production art from Dengeki’s release of Sword Art Online anime news. Prices in parentheses are the costs if all of the raw materials had to be purchased instead of using leftovers or whatever is available in the house. Sword Art Online II Silica (ALO ver.) progress can be found hereĬost of the costume are shown by part.

silica sao

More photos of the finished costume can be found here.










Silica sao